Local Artist: Nancy Bass

by thesoontobemurrys

Have you been in Roxie Daisy and seen the sweet cow portraits? They have them on shelves and various walls? I forget where I first saw them, but I have been admiring Nancy Bass‘s cows for the past 4 years.   A few weeks ago, I received an email from Nancy announcing an open house at her studio.  Charlie and I decided it might be time to take the plunge and buy a cow painting.

We took a drive out to Nancy’s studio, just out 29 south of town.  The studio is in a beautiful old brick farmhouse.  As we drove up the dirt and gravel driveway, we were surrounded by cows! They were all over the front hill of the house, crossing the driveway, and walking around the fields surrounding the house.  photo 1

Nancy was very welcoming. She had on display a variety of her paintings including a selection from the herd, the flock, and others.  I gravitated straight toward “the herd”, the small cow paintings that I have had my eye on.

We talked to Nancy about her painting process (very interesting), the farm house, her training, and more.  Nancy originally started painting portraits, switched to landscapes, and now, kind of combines the two with her animal portraits.  She did have a couple landscapes (with cows in them) that we really liked as well.

After a lot of hemming and hawing, we finally picked our new cow painting! Amy (the cow) now has a special place in our living room and we couldn’t be happier!

 

photo 3(Charlie in front of Nancy’s studio with Amy)

 

Thank you Nancy!

