Ace Biscuit and BBQ

by thesoontobemurrys

We went to Ace for lunch the other day. We had heard some good things about it and wanted to see for ourselves. At around 12:15pm it was quite crowded and it took 15-20 minutes to get through the line and wait for the food. I am not sure if you can call ahead if you want to take out, but that might be a better strategy. The place is very small and seating is somewhat limited — at least during the busy lunch hour.

So what did we get from Ace Biscuit and BBQ? Biscuits and BBQ. I had the Ace Dip. Pork on a roll/bun with onions and provolone, with a side of gravy to dip it in. Genius. The pork was very good. I am guessing there are a lot of allegiances out there with respect to bbq. I haven’t been to Belmont BBQ in a while, I like very much the food at BBQ Exchange in Gordonsville, and I think Jinx’s has some of the best meat I have ever tasted, but I am not going to fight anybody over which is best (I am obviously leaving some places out as well). But I do think the pork at Ace is excellent (not Jinx excellent, but I don’t want to get into a fight about it). So in my opinion the pork is worth the trip by itself.

We also got an egg, biscuit, cheese, and fried chicken sandwich. The biscuit was very good. But the chicken was a little salty, at least for Betsy. This makes us a little tentative to try the chicken and waffles next time.

Other options for food are different meats (ribs, chicken etc), a variety of sides, and some other things I can’t quite recall. Also, they have a variety of bbq sauces that I didn’t try. The pork needed no sauce, (but the gravy was a nice complement).

Besides the food, the people working here are very pleasant.

We will be back to this place, and we’ll likely order the chicken and waffles next time. I would definitely get the dip again as well.

P.S. My apologies to Mr. Jinx for mucking up the words barbeque and BBQ.

